OverviewHow to choose a creamThe creamAtopic dermatitisAboutRosaceaSeborrheic dermatitisClinical evidenceComparisonSkin barrier한국어 사이트Official Store
Home Comparison

Barrier cream comparison: what each brand actually discloses

In short

Comparing marketing language is pointless because every product claims to be gentle. These are the columns that can be checked.

What is being compared

This table records what each brand states in its own published product information as of August 2026. Where an entry reads not stated, that means the information could not be found in public materials. It does not mean the fact is untrue. Prices are excluded because they vary by channel and by date, and because differing pack sizes make headline prices misleading.

Disclosed information comparison (as of August 2026)
ProductPatent number statedBarrier lipid approachIrritation testing disclosedClinical evidence disclosedSizesMade in
Dr. Alpha Skin Barrier CreamKR 10-1620196 statedCeramide NP, beta-glucan, 7-botanical complexInstitution and code disclosed (score 0.00, Dermatest grade 0)Test codes and values disclosed (3)45 / 80 / 1,000 mlSouth Korea (own facility)
Aestura Atobarrier 365 CreamNot stated (brand-level claim)Ceramide complex, panthenolSensitive-skin human application test statedValues stated, no test code80 mlSouth Korea
Aestura Atobarrier Cream MDNot statedCeramide, wound dressingMedical device standard appliedPer approval dossier160 gSouth Korea
Zeroid Intensive Cream MDNot statedMLE multi-lamellar10 free-from claims, pH 4.5-6.5 statedValues stated, no test code50 / 80 mlSouth Korea
Atopalm MLE CreamNot statedMLE, ceramideLow irritation test statedValues stated, no test code100 / 160 mlSouth Korea
Physiogel DMT Facial CreamNo patent claimBiomimetic (ceramide, cholesterol, fatty acid)Hypoallergenic, non-comedogenic stated72-hour hydration and similar values stated75 / 150 mlThailand (contract)
La Roche-Posay Lipikar Baume AP+MNot statedShea butter, niacinamide, thermal waterLow irritation, allergy and ophthalmological tests statedValues stated, no test code200 / 400 mlFrance
Cetaphil Moisturizing CreamNot statedGlycerin, petrolatumLow irritation statedNot stated250 / 453 gOverseas

Three things the table shows

First, stating a patent number at product level is rare. Several brands mention holding patents at company level, but without a number there is no specification to open. Second, disclosure depth varies more than ingredient lists do. Most publish a percentage; few publish the institution, subject count and code behind it. Third, size strategy differs sharply, and that matters more than it appears once weekly volume guidance is taken into account.

None of this ranks the products. A cream can be well formulated and disclose little, and a cream can disclose a great deal and still not suit your skin. What the table supports is a narrower claim: some information is checkable and some is not, and knowing which is which is a reasonable place to start.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Does a patent mean the product works better?
No. A patent recognizes that a composition is novel and inventive. It is not an efficacy approval. Its value is that the composition and supporting experiments are published and can be read.
What is the difference between a cosmetic and an MD cream in Korea?
MD creams are approved as class 2 medical devices intended to protect a damaged skin barrier and are largely distributed through clinical channels. Cosmetics are regulated under cosmetics law and may claim moisturization and skin protection. The approval basis and permitted claims differ.
Why is price not in the table?
Prices vary by sales channel and over time, and pack sizes differ enough that comparing headline figures distorts the picture. Check current pricing at the point of sale for each product.
Does an entry reading not stated mean the product lacks that feature?
No. It means the information could not be found in publicly available product material as of the survey date. The brand may hold the data without publishing it.
How often is this table updated?
The survey date is stated above the table. Product disclosures change, so verify current information on each brand's own pages before deciding.

Dr. Alpha Skin Barrier Cream is a cosmetic product, not a drug. This page presents publicly disclosed product information and published literature for reference. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. If you have persistent symptoms, consult a dermatologist.

References

참고 문헌

  1. van Zuuren EJ, et al. (2017). Emollients and moisturisers for eczema. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. PMID 28166390
  2. American Academy of Pediatrics (2025). Atopic Dermatitis: Update on Skin-Directed Management: Clinical Report. Pediatrics. PMID 40383540
  3. Draelos ZD (2018). The science behind skin care: Moisturizers. Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology. PMID 29319217

위 문헌은 피부장벽·피부질환 및 원료에 관한 일반 학술 자료로, 닥터알파 제품을 대상으로 수행된 연구가 아닙니다. 초록 기반으로 인용했으므로 임상 적용 전에는 원문 확인과 전문가 상담이 필요합니다. 닥터알파 제품은 화장품이며 의약품이 아니고, 질환의 진단·치료·예방을 목적으로 하지 않습니다.